Meet Our Summer Staff: Kate, Sydney, Thomas, and Jeremy

Kate Mobley

10515234_10202218921863762_5752693002921630131_o

“With my God I can scale a wall.” -Psalm 18:29

Age: 18

Hometown: Lexington, TN

High School: St. Andrew’s- Sewanee School 2014

College: University of Tennessee- Chattanooga

Major: Biology

Why did you choose to work at Lakeshore this summer? I’ve felt called to work at camp for at least four years now. I want to be a part of such a powerful community.

What does the ministry at Lakeshore mean to you? It is all about loving each other, for each other, with true agape love, and feeling connected with people in order to both feel and show that love, so that we can take it into the world to show others.

What is your experience with Lakeshore in the past? I first came to camp as an elementary camper when I was eight, and I have been coming back every summer since, but the most influential time that I have spent at camp has been the weeks during the past three years that I have spent volunteer counseling.

 10428322_10202218944224321_6454434263836834320_o

Dream Job: Wildlife Photographer

Favorite Camp Food: Watermelon

Favorite Camp Game: Socbee

Fun fact: I can write with either hand.

What activity will you never skip? Creek Stompin’

What are you most looking forward to this summer? Being outside all the time! I love seeing my campers try things outside the realm of their comfort zone and experience the outdoors up close. It is where I feel the most at peace and connected with God, and I want to share the wonders of the wilderness with my campers.

A moment you have encountered God at camp/where you see him work the most? During the summer of 2012, when I was volunteer counseling, I had a cabin of elementary campers that bonded together amazingly well. We became a family that week and it was easy to see Christ working in each of those kids as eleven very different girls became the best of friends. We still write letter to each other throughout the year and each letter that comes is a reminder of the work of Christ that I experienced that week.

 

Sydney Gilliam

10357443_10202386139966720_2079152563915063208_n

“And we know that in all things God works for the good of those who love him, who[a] have been called according to his purpose.” -Romans 8:28

Age: 18

Hometown: Martin, TN

High School: Westview High School 2014

College: University of Tennessee of Knoxville

Major: Music Education

Why did you choose to work at Lakeshore this summer? I have gone to Lakeshore since I was old enough for Primary camp. It’s one of those things where you feel incomplete if you aren’t participating. It’s become such a gigantic part of my life and I wanted to give my campers an experience I had.

What does the ministry at Lakeshore mean to you? Lakeshore impacts people in different ways. For me, it has given me a safe place to be myself without people questioning why I do something or what I’m talking about. It was been a bigger home to me than Martin has and being able to serve as an RC this summer will just give me more and more reasons as to what the ministry is doing for me.

Where did you hear about camp? I don’t remember hearing about Lakeshore before I went. My mother sort of just dropped me and one of my friends off for Primary camp and my seven year-old self was like “Hey, this is sort of fun!”

10471075_10152525022259294_534614261_o

Dream Job: Sax Professor or saxophonists for a live band on SNL, Conan, etc.

Favorite Camp Food: Everything…tie between hashbrown casserole and the cookies.

Favorite Camp Game: ASSASIN!!!

Fun fact: I have a Betta fish…his name is Loki…because Tom Hiddleston is the bomb dot com

What activity will you never skip? HIGH ROPES!!!

What is your favorite combo from canteen? Coca-Cola and using the green sour punch straws as straws

What are you most looking forward to this summer? Definitely getting to know my campers and VC! They won’t know what hit ‘em!!!

What is one of your favorite camp memories? Sr. High Wilderness. One of the first times I felt really close to God. During one of the worships around the campfire, we started sharing some of our troubles and worries about our lives. The best part was the spontaneity of sharing our fears and regrets. We only knew each other for about three days, but everyone was supportive and it brought us so much closer together.

A moment you have encountered God at camp/where you see him work the most? I actually saw him during a retreat I chaperoned in February of my sophomore year. The Friday we got there, I was faced with a morally difficult situation and I had no idea what to do. The next day, I walked the Prayer Labyrinth and actually prayed to God for the first time. And ever since then, it’s become my absolute favourite place in the world and I walk the Prayer Labyrinth whenever I can.

 

Thomas Cochran

  10580226_10202386110725989_7928670585908103149_n

“Then Jesus told his disciples, “If any want to become my followers, let them deny themselves and take up their cross and follow me. For those who want to save their life will lose it, and those who lose their life for my sake will find it. For what will it profit them if they gain the whole world but forfeit their life? Or what will they give in return for their life?” -Matthew 16:24-26

Age: 19

Hometown: Memphis, TN

High School: White Station High School 2012

College: University of Tennessee at Knoxville

Major: Kinesiology

Why did you choose to work at Lakeshore this summer? To put it simply, I wanted to forget about myself for a while and serve others. Dedicating my summer to campers gives me the opportunity to do just that.

What does the ministry at Lakeshore mean to you? The ministry at Lakeshore means so much to me. A lot of my close encounters with God happened here. I would not be the person I am today without everyone involved with Lakeshore.

What is your experience with Lakeshore in the past? I have been a camper since 6th grade. I went to main camps first, and then went to wilderness camps freshmen and sophomore year. Unfortunately, I did not go for 3 years after that but finally came back this past summer as a VC. Now I’m an RC! Who woulda thunk?

 1531532_10202180138256806_422679794241465436_o

Dream Job: Occupational Therapist at Le Bonheur Children’s Hospital

Favorite Camp Food: Frito-Chili Pie

Favorite Camp Game: Knock Out

Fun fact: One of my ancestors is William Dawes, the guy who rode with Paul Revere.

What activity will you never skip? Crafts

What is your favorite combo from canteen? Root Beer and Snicker Ice Cream Bar

What are you most looking forward to this summer? I am most looking forward to seeing kids grow in their understanding of God’s grace. Lakeshore has played a vital role in my faith, and I want to give campers the same experience.

 

Jeremy McDuffie

10367797_10152557692692783_8040784050580420965_n

“Have I not commanded you? Be strong and courageous. Do not be afraid; do not be discouraged, for the Lord your God will be with you wherever you go.”  -Joshua 1:9

Age: 18

Hometown: Memphis

High School: Houston (2014)

College: University of Tennessee, Knoxville

Major: Biological Sciences

Why did you choose to work at Lakeshore this summer? I chose to work at Lakeshore this summer to help others grow in their faith, to grow in my own faith by helping others to do so, and to have a ton of fun while doing it.

What does the ministry at Lakeshore mean to you? Lakeshore is a place where you can show love to others, be loved by others, and experience God’s love together. I benefited immensely from this ministry as a camper, and my counselors played a large role in making camp a meaningful experience for me. Now, I get to spend my whole summer encouraging kids to recognize and feel God’s love through many different avenues.

What is your experience with Lakeshore in the past? I attended elementary and junior high camps and then attended counselor certification as soon as I was old enough. I was a volunteer counselor for the past three summers.

10406796_10203201294345124_7037617996143916925_n

Dream Job: Memphis Grizzlies Point Guard

Favorite Camp Food: French Toast Sticks

Favorite Camp Game: Survivor Ball

Fun fact: I have a twin brother, David, who is also a resident counselor!

What activity will you never skip? Archery

What is your favorite combo from canteen? Yoo-hoo and Starbursts

What are you most looking forward to this summer? I’m most looking forward to building faith-based relationships with my campers while having a ton of fun enjoying God’s creation with them.

What is one of your favorite camp memories? One of my favorite camp memories is the first week that I ever counseled. I was 15 years old, and I was really nervous about counseling, but my co-counselors made sure I felt comfortable and prepared. I remember thinking, “Wow, I don’t think anyone besides my mom has ever cared about me this much!” I have always known that Lakeshore is a special place, but that week showed me just how special the camp community is.

A moment you have encountered God at camp/where you see him work the most?  I see God when I see kids try new things that they would not be doing if they were not at camp such as archery and high ropes.

Leave a Reply

