Meet Our Summer Staff: David, Josh, Daniel, and Jeremy

David McDuffie

1149407_10201976413557030_1700177270_o

“Whatever happens, conduct yourselves in a manner worthy of the gospel of Christ. Then, whether I come and see you or only hear about you in my absence, I will know that you stand firm in the one Spirit, striving together as one for the faith of the gospel without being frightened in any way by those who oppose you. This is a sign to them that they will be destroyed, but that you will be saved—and that by God. For it has been granted to you on behalf of Christ not only to believe in him, but also to suffer for him,  since you are going through the same struggle you saw I had, and now hear that I still have.” -Phillipians 1:27-30

Age: 18

Hometown: Memphis, TN

High School: Houston High School 2014

College: University of Tennessee

Major: Biology

Why did you choose to work at Lakeshore this summer? I was excited by the chance to serve God throughout the summer while at camp. I relish the opportunity to spend time with kids as their counselor and just have a blast with them, while also trying to help them experience God’s love. I have been going to Lakeshore since I was eleven years old and I want to offer my campers the same thing that I received here: the best week of my summer, in a faith-based environment.

 What does the ministry at Lakeshore mean to you? Lakeshore has played a big role in my life. It has provided me with a community unmatched by any other thing I am involved in. I still talk to people I went to camp with five years ago. From Lakeshore I have gained a family that shares in my experiences on my faith walk.

 Where did you hear about camp? I first went to camp as an eleven year old elementary camper. I loved it, and have been coming back ever since. I went to the junior high camps, and for two years the senior high camps as well. The last three summers, I served as a Volunteer Counselor. This is my first summer on staff.

 10501859_10152640043182783_255696339577450692_n

Dream Job: Umpire for Major League Baseball

Favorite Camp Food: Frito Chili Pie

Favorite Camp Game: Knock Out

What activity will you never skip? Creek Stomping

What is your favorite combo from canteen? Yoohoo and Oreo Ice Cream

What is one of your favorite camp memories? My first year at camp, my cabin’s air conditioning broke. My counselors “stole” the fans from the conference center and put them in our cabin, and I remember all of us elementary campers thought we were the coolest people ever because of it.

  A moment you have encountered God at camp/where you see him work the most? I see God in how the members of a cabin grow so close to each other. Each week, a bunch of different types of people with different interests are thrown together into a cabin and almost immediately become great friends. It is remarkable to see the transition from awkward greetings and basic ‘get to know you’ questions to a best friends who don’t want to leave on Saturday.

 

Josh Hayes

10471075_10152525022259294_534614261_o

Ezekiel 33:1-20

Age: 23

Hometown: Milan

High School: Milan High 2009

College: Bethel University

Major: Music ED

Why did you choose to work at Lakeshore this summer? I was called to kid’s ministry in a camp a while back, this is my first real step toward fulfilling that call.

What does the ministry at Lakeshore mean to you? I love it! To me Lakeshore IS Love we’re just the ones that get to help pass it out.

Where did you hear about camp? I heard about camp at Bethel one day. I was walking to lunch and someone asked if I was interested in camp. It’s funny now to think that my response was, “Aren’t I a little old?”

10333269_10202014062625019_4017016813399524523_o 

Dream Job: Touring Didgeridoo performer

Favorite Camp Food: Salad

Favorite Camp Game: Gaga Ball

Fun fact: I can lick my elbow

What is your favorite combo from canteen? A Yoohoo….and another Yoohoo

What are you most looking forward to this summer? Everything!

A moment you have encountered God at camp. Prayer walk, I’ve still got my rock.

 

Daniel Woodin (Wilderness-Oxley)

10464076_10202364727388705_8602363958062510008_n

“However, I consider my life worth nothing to me; my only aim is to finish the race and complete the task the Lord Jesus has given me—the task of testifying to the good news of God’s grace.” -Acts 20:24

Age: 22

Hometown: Woodbury, TN

High School:  Cannon County High School 2010

College: MTSU

Major: Aerospace

Why did you choose to work at Lakeshore this summer? I wanted to serve in some big way this summer and this is where I felt I was being led to.

What does the ministry at Lakeshore mean to you? Lakeshore has to do with much of my personal testimony. Lakeshore somehow just has a way of making our hearts tender which gives way for some HUGE growth in our walks with Christ. It’s important to me to help out any ministry that presents the opportunity for and encourages such awesome growth.

What is your experience with Lakeshore in the past? I was a camper WAAAAY back in the day and have also VC’d Senior High, Ski Clinic, Music/Drama, and Oxley camps in past summers.

10487180_10152209355415689_4590339918196677539_n

Dream Job: Pro Fisherman

Favorite Camp Food: French Toast sticks!

Favorite Camp Game: WOLF

Fun fact: I love to cook

What activity will you never skip? High Ropes

What is your favorite combo from canteen? Peanut butter M&M’s and Strawberry Shortcake Ice cream

What are you most looking forward to this summer? Making a TON of new friends to live life with

What is one of your favorite camp memories? Ski Clinic 2007

A moment you have encountered God at camp/where you see him work the most? Worship out on the soccer field under the stars. Seeing the magnitude of God and realizing that he, the creator of all things, Loves us unconditionally and made us in his image.

 

Jeremy Meister

Jeremy Meister

‘but those who hope in the Lord will renew their strength. They will soar on wings like eagles; they will run and not grow weary they will walk and not be faint.” -Isaiah 40:31

Age: 22

Hometown: Bartlett, TN

High School (year you graduated): First Assembly Christian School, 2011

College: UT Martin

Major: Marketing, Minor: Management

Favorite Bible verse: Isaiah 40:31

Why did you choose to work at Lakeshore this summer? I chose to work at Lakeshore so that I could be able to provide a safe, fun camping experience to kids while teaching/showing them that you can worship God in multiply ways. I also wanted to try out youth ministry before I commit all the way to getting my masters of divinity after college.

What does the ministry at Lakeshore mean to you? The ministry at Lakeshore means to me an opportunity to show kids that worship is so much more than singing and reading ones Bible. It’s about learning to experience God and worshiping him in every aspect of one’s daily life.

Where did you hear about camp? I heard about Lakeshore through UT Martin’s Wesley Director, Becca Alexander and her husband Chris Alexander. Chris strongly advised applying to Lakeshore knowing that I am considering pursuing a career in full time youth ministry after college.

10467117_10202218941824261_3948531351066535744_o 

Dream Job: Not having to work at all and instead being able to fish and kayak all day in Alaska.

Favorite Camp Food: Mac and Cheese

Fun fact: My nickname is Bill in my fraternity because I look like Bill Nye the science guy, I can also move my ears without touching them.

What activity will you never skip? Pool Time

What is your favorite combo from canteen? Skittles and Mountain dew

What are you most looking forward to this summer? Working with kids

What is one of your favorite camp memories? 7th grade youth retreat; we were all around the bonfire when a marsh mellow fight broke out. It was insane and fun

Other info you would like to share about yourself/about the summer: I am extremely hyper at times and I love sugar. I am willing to do humiliating things to myself if it will bring a smile to someone’s face.

Leave a Reply

