Meet Our Summer Staff: Tyler and Sumner

This year Tyler and Sumner answered the call to serve on summer staff in the same position (Resident Counselors) that they held last summer. Their constant love and patience for the kids was evident all summer.

Tyler Kennel

10435874_10152523740967783_8355191923229604824_n

“How good and pleasant it is when God’s people live together in unity!” -Psalm 133:1

Age: 19

Hometown: Collierville, TN

High School: Collierville High School (2013)

College: University of Tennessee-Knoxville

Major: Electrical Engineering

Why did you choose to work at Lakeshore this summer? I worked as an RC last summer and it helped me grow spiritually on my walk with Christ while also giving me an opportunity to give back and help others in the Christian community.

What does the ministry at Lakeshore mean to you? Lakeshore is a community of Christians who don’t only work during the summer to build relationships, but year round, helping other experience God’s love and grace.

What is your experience with Lakeshore in the past? I came as a camper the first year I was old enough for primary and went to elementary camp until I was old enough for wilderness. My favorite camp that I went to as a camper was Senior High Watersports Wilderness. Last summer I worked as a Resident Counselor which I will do again this summer.

 10389651_10152557686522783_5402218138319037973_n

Favorite Camp Food: Cheesy Breadsticks!

Favorite Camp Game: Knockout aka the only time I can hit a 3-pointer

Fun fact: I was born with extra bone in the top joints of my thumbs, so they point about 30 degrees in toward my hands

(RCs) What activity will you never skip? Pool

What is your favorite combo from canteen? Yoohoo and Pretzel M&Ms

What are you most looking forward to this summer? Meeting new people and strengthening my relationship with Christ

What is one of your favorite camp memories? Finally beating Phase 10 with my campers two summers ago

A moment you have encountered God at camp/where you see him work the most? Sorry for the cheesy answer, but every week I see God in my campers.

 

Sumner Gilliam

10363843_10152523731222783_9018778427233790828_n

“Do everything in love.” -1 Corinthians 16:14

Age: 20

Hometown: Martin, TN

High School: Martin Westview 2012

College: University of Tennessee

Major: History

Why did you choose to work at Lakeshore this summer? To show all God’s true love

What does the ministry at Lakeshore mean to you? It means a lot to me and my faith

Where did you hear about camp? My mom asked if I wanted to go but at first I didn’t because I was at a basketball camp

 10478432_10154354356695454_2156570972607761412_n

Dream Job: US Men’s Head Soccer Manager

Favorite Camp Food: breadsticks

Favorite Camp Game: Mojo ball

Fun fact: I’m an RC in the rare year three!

What activity will you never skip? Nature

What is your favorite combo from canteen? Dr. Pepper and Milky Way

What is one of your favorite camp memories? Seeing my Jr. High 1 campers perform “Rise” at the all camp talent show

Leave a Reply

