Meet Our Summer Staff: Karley, Alexis, Daniel, Hannah, and Dany

Lakeshore welcomed many new people to the summer staff family this year. Karley, Alexis, Daniel (DJ), Hannah, and Dany were all new faces who served on Activity Staff.

Karley Tapp: First Aid Director

DSCN2695

“God is in the midst of her, she will not be moved; God will help her when morning dawns.” -Psalm 46:5

Age: 20

Hometown: Somerville, TN

High School: Fayette Academy 2012

College: Mississippi State University

Major: Accounting

Why did you choose to work at Lakeshore this summer? Not only was being on staff a dream of mine I also wanted to be a part of something bigger than myself and to give back to the place that has given me so much throughout my life. I want to show God’s love in everything I do and Lakeshore is a perfect place to do that.

What does the ministry at Lakeshore mean to you? Everything, I found the true meaning of God’s grace and love while going to camp and I would not be the person I am today without the ministry that was presented to me through Lakeshore. That is why I want to help pass along what I’ve gotten from my Lakeshore experience to campers and in return, grow more in Christ by learning from them.

Where did you hear about camp? I actually heard about Lakeshore through another 2014 staff and one of my best friends, Gracie Cocke. I decided to attend Lakeshore with her and a few friends the summer going into the fourth grade and have been a camper and/or volunteer counselor ever since.

Karley Tapp02

Dream Job: buying old antebellum homes and remodeling them

Favorite Camp Food: chicken nuggets and cheesy bread

Favorite Camp Game: Gotcha (or some people call it “Knock Out” but I refuse to call it that)

Fun fact: I have been told that my kneecaps look like they have smiley faces on them…

What makes your activity/position the best? I get to help heal people… AND I don’t have a dress code… obviously my position rocks

What is your favorite combo from canteen? Reese’s and Dr. Pepper (with a few bites of a salty snack)

What are you most looking forward to this summer? Getting to know all the campers and seeing all the smiling faces when they just arrive for the week

What is one of your favorite camp memories? Sitting at canteen with all my campers just laughing about everything and anything… Being silly and laughing so hard it starts to hurt your stomach. that is my favorite memory.

A moment you have encountered God at camp/where you see him work the most? I remember this one worship in Home in the Woods that just blew me away… Also, when my cabin woke up to see the sunrise while sitting in the girls’ Vesper my last summer as a camper./ I see him work the most through the little things- random real talk with all your campers, playing games out on the blacktop, walks to/from worships…

 

 

Alexis Scott: Craft Director

1525056_10152557691357783_7317103930581843726_n

“He must become greater; I must become less.” -John 3:30

“So that you may become blameless and pure, “children of God without fault in a warped and crooked generation.” Then you will shine among them like stars in the sky.” -Phillipians 2:15

Age: 20

Hometown: Franklin, TN although I was born in Seattle and still consider myself a west coast girl at heart

High School: Fred J. Page High School graduated in 2012

College: University of Tennessee at Chattanooga

Major: Communications

Favorite Bible verse: John 3:30 & Philippians 2:15

Why did you choose to work at Lakeshore this summer? I wanted to have a fulfilling summer of serving, loving and growing in His name. Lakeshore has provided me with the opportunity to do all these things and more.

What does the ministry at Lakeshore mean to you? The ministry at Lakeshore is simple yet intentional. I believe anything with the foundation comprised of life, love, grace and God will produce good and wholesome results.

Where did you hear about camp? I have several dear friends whose lives have been ever changed by Lakeshore and they have recommended me to experience myself it by working there.

  Alexis Scott

Dream Job: Run political campaigns, be Editor in Chief of a magazine, represent government agencies

Fun fact: I’m natural at board games and I drink more tea than an English person.

What makes your activity/position the best? I get to watch and assist kids create which is such a beautiful thing. Also, furthering their love and knowledge of Jesus while having fun and being free is such a privilege.

What are you most looking forward to this summer? Since I’ve never been as a camper or as an employee at Lakeshore I have heard so much of other peoples stories, experiences and memories and I am very excited to finally make my own stories, experiences and memories at Lakeshore.

Daniel Johnson (DJ): Lifeguard

Daniel Johnson

“I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me.” -Phillipians 4:13

Age: 19

Hometown: Memphis, TN

High School: Craigmont High School 2013

College: Middle Tennessee State University

Major: Music Education

Why did you choose to work at Lakeshore this summer? I felt like it would be a great opportunity to strengthen my faith and have fun this summer.

What does the ministry at Lakeshore mean to you? A chance to meet other people on their faith journeys while taking steps in my own.

What is your experience with Lakeshore in the past?  I came to Lakeshore for the first time during senior high camp the summer after I graduated high school. It was like no camp I had ever been to. I was able to have fun and meet new people while still focusing on my faith.

 10418301_788468287859935_8995828315990154479_n

Dream Job: College Band director

Favorite Camp Food: Hashbrown Casserole

Favorite Camp Game: survivor ball

What makes your activity/position the best? As we all know it gets very hot at summer camp. Being at the pool is a great way for the youth to cool off and interact with one another.

What is your favorite combo from canteen? Extra crispy Kit Kat and Dr. Pepper.

What are you most looking forward to this summer? Being able to enjoy time in nature.

What is one of your favorite camp memories? All camp games during senior high camp

A moment you have encountered God at camp/where you see him work the most? The first time I heard Gary say go and be about the family business

 

Hannah Riley: Music Director

10575270_10152611915364294_6403355480091027386_o

“Have I not commanded you? Be strong and courageous. Do not be afraid; do not be discouraged, for the Lord your God will be with you wherever you go.” -Joshua 1:9

Age: 19

Hometown: Murray, Kentucky

High School: Murray High School 2013

College: Belmont University

Major: Entertainment Industry Studies with a Sports and Media Minor

Favorite Bible verse: Joshua 1:9

Why did you choose to work at Lakeshore this summer? Working at Lakeshore has been a dream of mine for a long time. I have a passion for Lakeshore and know that I would not be the person I am today without the impact of Lakeshore, and I want to help campers have similar experiences.

What does the ministry at Lakeshore mean to you? Lakeshore means being able to completely be myself in a community of believers that will support me. Lakeshore means finding my calling and having a community that will support me in any way they can to help me follow my calling.

What is your experience with Lakeshore in the past? I have been at Lakeshore every summer since I was five years old. I have been a camper at main camp, specialty camps, and wilderness camps. I have been a volunteer counselor for four summers and have assisted my Mom at the camps she has been the dean for multiple years. I have had the privilege to see many sides of how Lakeshore loves and love them all!

 10420483_10152485235509294_795581726_o

Dream Job: Sports Agent in the NFL

Favorite Camp Food: Frito Chili Pie

Favorite Camp Game: Clothespin Ninja

Fun fact: I play the banjo!

What makes your activity/position the best? Everyone loves camp music! Music was always one of my favorite parts of camp!

What is your favorite combo from canteen? Diet Dr. Pepper and Nerds Rope

What are you most looking forward to this summer? Meeting lots of awesome kids!

What is one of your favorite camp memories? When I was a camper at Sr. High Wilderness, walking back from the lower admin to wilderness after watching Jurassic Park and all of us trying to scare each other by acting like dinosaurs. It was so silly, but we were all having a blast being silly and acting like kids.

A moment you have encountered God at camp/where you see him work the most? I see God the most in the growth of people through the week. A week doesn’t seem like a long time, but people grow so much as people and in their faith in one short week at camp.

Dany Keiser: Adventure Director

 

10474900_10152605668827783_9151952047218159197_n

“Now faith is confidence in what we hope for and assurance about what we do not see.” -Hebrews 11:1

Age: 19

Hometown: Bentonville, AR

High School: Collierville High, 2013

College: Ole Miss

Major: English/History Double Major

Why did you choose to work at Lakeshore this summer? Camp is where I came to know the Lord as my savior and I want other kids to have that opportunity.

What does the ministry at Lakeshore mean to you? Lakeshore has such an intentional program in which every kid deserves to be loved on and that really means the world to me. I’m so glad to be a part of it.

Where did you hear about camp? I heard about Lakeshore through kids at my home church in Collierville who came back with the fire of God in their hearts and the excitement to share the word of God pouring out of them.

 10441076_10203201293585105_2185126733977245283_n

Dream Job: Photographer

Favorite Camp Food: Cheesy Breadsticks!

Fun fact: I was on the Frosted Flakes box for a few months as a child as a part of a Let’s Go Fishing Campaign.

What makes your activity/position the best? I get to direct adventures. Isn’t that what camp is all about?

What is your favorite combo from canteen? Dr. Pepper and Sour Punch Watermelons

What are you most looking forward to this summer? I can’t wait to build relationships with my fellow staff and the kids that will be there.

A moment you have encountered God at camp/where you see him work the most? I love seeing kids in worship because they allow themselves to let go and be in God’s presence more than anywhere else they have ever been and it’s amazing to me.

Leave a Reply

