Meet Our Summer Staff: McKenzie, Eileen, Emily, & Gracie

We  have several campers who volunteer as counselors for years. Some of those VCs are hired to serve as Summer Staff. These are a few of our girl Resident Counselors. A few have worked several weeks of the summer volunteering their time to serve in love.  A few have only counseled a handful of times, but they have all shown great amounts of love, energy, and grace to all of their campers this summer.

McKenzie Bullwinkel

McKenzie_Bullwinkel02[1]

“Peace I leave with you; my peace I give to you. I do not give to you as the world gives. Do not let your hearts be troubled, and do not let them be afraid.”– John 14:27

Age: 19

Hometown: Somerville, TN

High School: Fayette Academy 2013

College: UT Chatt

Major: Exceptional Learning K-12

Why did you choose to work at Lakeshore this summer? I wanted to havethe chance to truly show campers God’s love, to offer the opportunity of having a week full of acceptance, love, grace, and forgiveness to each camper I come in contact with this summer.

What does the ministry at Lakeshore mean to you? An incredible community where everyone’s purpose is to love campers and show them God’s love. How cool is that?!

What is your experience with Lakeshore in the past? I have been a camper since elementary and have been a VC. My family has been very involved since the 60’s. It’s a family tradition.

 McKenzie_Bullwinkel[1]

Dream Job: film writer

Favorite Camp Food: pizza and fluffy ranch

Favorite Camp Game: survivor ball/Gotcha!

Fun fact: I’m addicted to ice

What activity will you never skip? Rec

What is your favorite combo from canteen? Mountain Dew & Chex Mix

What are you most looking forward to this summer? The deep conversations and understandings with my campers & fellow staff

What is one of your favorite camp memories? Jr. High 2 dance 2013 with camper and our “spotlights”

A moment you have encountered God at camp/where you see him work the most? The real talks after worships

 

 

Eileen Emerson

eileen-2014

 

“Do not press me to leave you or 

or to turn back from following you!

Where you go, I will go;

where you lodge, I will lodge;

your people shall be my people,

and your God my God.

Where you die, I will die-

there will I be buried.

May the LORD do thus and so to me,

and more as well,

if ever death parts me from you!”

-Ruth 1:16-17

Age: 20

Hometown: Camden

High School: Camden Central (2012)

College: The George Washington University (the “the” is supposedly important)

Major: Political Communication

Why did you choose to work at Lakeshore this summer? My daily goal is “do good work with good people,” and Lakeshore is doing the best work with the best people

What does the ministry at Lakeshore mean to you? Lakeshore shows you what it is to love and be loved unconditionally

What is your experience with Lakeshore in the past?

 I can’t remember a summer I haven’t spent at least one week at Lakeshore.  My dad has been the dean of primary elementary for most of my life, so I came with him until I was old enough to be an actual camper.

eileen-1

Dream Job: Jon Stewart’s manager

Favorite Camp Food: Spaghetti

Favorite Camp Game: Who’s the Boss

Fun fact: I can fix a football helmet

What activity will you never skip? Music

What is your favorite combo from canteen? Coke and Reese’s

What are you most looking forward to this summer? Meeting my campers

What is one of your favorite camp memories?  One of my cabins tried to make a rock-Jesus in the creek.

A moment you have encountered God at camp/where you see him work the most? I really see God during low ropes, when cabins learn to trust each other and work together.

 

Emily Taylor

Emily_Taylor[1]

“I hereby command you: Be strong and courageous; do not be frightened or dismayed, for the LORD your God is with you wherever you go.” –Joshua 1:9

Age: 18

Hometown: Dyersburg, TN

High School: Dyersburg High School 2013

College: University of Tennessee at Chattanooga

Major: Accounting

Favorite Bible verse: Joshua 1:9

Why did you choose to work at Lakeshore this summer? I wanted to show campers the love of God through a camp experience like I have had.

What does the ministry at Lakeshore mean to you? Lakeshore to me means a safe place to come and be accepted being yourself. It’s a place where the community shows you the presence of God.

What is your experience with Lakeshore in the past? I started coming to Lakeshore the summer of 2004 and started counseling in 2012

 Emily-1

Dream Job: to own a small clothing boutique

Favorite Camp Food: strawberry cheesecake cookies

Favorite Camp Game: foursquare

Fun fact: I laugh at my own jokes but never get the punchline because I’m laughing

What activity will you never skip? Crafts

What is your favorite combo from canteen? Twix ice cream & Dr. Pepper

What is one of your favorite camp memories? I love watching my cabins get close & make friendships with people they didn’t know before camp

Gracie Cocke

Gracie_Cocke02[1]

‘For I am convinced that neither death, nor life, nor angels, nor rulers, nor things present, nor things to come, nor powers, nor height, nor depth, nor anything else in all creation, will be able to separate us from the love of God in Christ Jesus our Lord.”– Romans 8:38-39

Age: 20

Hometown: Braden, TN

High School: Fayette Academy (2012)

College: University of Mississippi HOTTY TODDY

Major: Journalism

Favorite Bible verse: Romans 8:38-39

Why did you choose to work at Lakeshore this summer? I want to make at least half of the impact my counselors made on me as a camper on my campers this summer.

What does the ministry at Lakeshore mean to you? Everything. I would not be the person I am today without this place and this ministry. The friendships that I have made here have forever shaped me into the person I am. Lakeshore has been here through every up and down and down and up of my spiritual journey, and I cannot imagine my life without it.

Where did you hear about camp? Lakeshore has been a part of my life for a very long time. I was a camper for 10 years (main camp over everything) and a volunteer counselor for 2 years.

gracie-1

Dream Job: Chicken Strip Connoisseur aka travel the world and eat chicken strips

Favorite Camp Food: easy. cheesy bread sticks.

Favorite Camp Game: I don’t think it is played much anymore but as a camper I would live for the game Poop Deck

Fun fact: I make a really weird peanut-butter-on-the-roof-of-my-mouth noise when I sleep

What activity will you never skip? Crafts

What is your favorite combo from canteen? Peanut butter m&ms and a Yoohoo

What are you most looking forward to this summer? Making new friends and forming closer relationships with old ones.

What is one of your favorite camp memories? Many of my favorite camp memories happened when I least expected them to happen in simple ways like casual canteen conversations turning into real talk or running, pick-up-and-spin-around hugs with old friends the first day of camp. Those are feelings I will forever remember.

A moment you have encountered God at camp/where you see him work the most? A clear night full of bright stars always makes me stop and catch my breath. Those moments always remind me of how big our God is. I specifically remember one worship during one of my years at Sr. High at Home in the Woods. Everyone was lying on their backs looking at the stars and openly sharing their personal struggles with the entire camp. It was so powerful to see the trust that had been built throughout the week between everyone.

Leave a Reply

