Meet Our Summer Staff: Bethany, Rachel, Sarah Anna, & Suzanne

Bethany, Rachel, Sarah Anna,  & Suzanne all joined us again this summer as Resident Counselors (RC). It has been great to see them grow over the summer. Returning to a position brings a lot of challenges as well as rewards. Each of them have shown their unique leadership abilities throughout the summer by setting an example of what it means to be a counselor here at Lakeshore.

Bethany Dietz: Wilderness Oxley Resident Counselor (WO RC)

Bethany Dietz02

 

“For I am convinced that neither death, nor life, nor angels, nor rulers, nor things present, nor things to come, nor powers, 39 nor height, nor depth, nor anything else in all creation, will be able to separate us from the love of God in Christ Jesus our Lord.”Romans 8:38-39

Age: 20

Hometown: Humboldt, TN

High School: University School of Jackson, 2012

College: University of Tennessee Knoxville

Major: Chemical Engineering

Why did you choose to work at Lakeshore this summer? After being a camper, volunteer, and then RC last summer, I’ve discovered God in so many ways at camp, and I simply desire to pass that along.  Camping at Lakeshore offers several chances daily for experiences that change your life and as a summer staff member I get to be an ambassador for Christ to work through those experiences.  It’s honestly a dream come true to be a part of the Lakeshore family.

What does the ministry at Lakeshore mean to you? Lakeshore’s ministry is based on the love that comes only from God and that love is transformative.  To me, it means showing kids that Christ makes each of us a new creation. What is your experience with Lakeshore in the past?

Where did you hear about camp? I’ve gone to camp since I was in first grade, been volunteering since I was 17, and I served on staff last summer as an RC.

 beth-2014

Dream Job: Engineer missionary

Favorite Camp Food: Eggs and sausage and biscuits

Favorite Camp Game: Survivor ball

Fun fact: I can lick my elbow and bend one toe all the way back

What activity will you never skip? Creekstomping

What are you most looking forward to this summer? Getting to talk about God all the time

What is one of your favorite camp memories? As a camper, getting to stay up late and talk with my cabin about our lives and getting to know each other better

Rachel Thompson: Resident Counselor

rach-2014

“For where your treasure is, there your heart will be also.”-Matthew 6:21

Age: 22

Hometown: Memphis, TN

High School: Houston High School (2010)

College: University of Tennessee

Major: Therapeutic Recreation

Why did you choose to work at Lakeshore this summer? I love camp and feel like I have something to bring to Lakeshore and to campers this summer.  I have always experienced God’s love and grace through the people at camp and I am thankful for the opportunity to be a part of that community for my campers and fellow staff members this summer.

What does the ministry at Lakeshore mean to you? To me, the ministry of Lakeshore means feeling like I’m home and surrounded by unconditional love.  The Lakeshore community extends far beyond just one week or one summer and I know the feeling of camp will stay with me wherever I go.

What is your experience with Lakeshore in the past?  I started coming to Lakeshore as a camper when I was 9 and have been back every summer since then.  I was baptized in the lake by Papa G during middle school and started volunteering as a counselor when I was 16.  This is my second summer on staff as an RC!

rach-20142

Dream Job: I would love to open a residential summer camp for children with multiple disabilities.

Favorite Camp Food: French toast sticks 

Favorite Camp Game: All-camp capture the flag

Fun fact: I have titanium plates in my head and set off the metal detector alarm at airports

What activity will you never skip? CREEK STOMPING  

What is your favorite combo from canteen? Cheez-its and Reeses

What are you most looking forward to this summer? Everything about camp is my favorite, but a few things I am looking forward to are: running and dancing around outside when it finally rains, reading bedtime stories to a cabin full of campers, and forming relationships over floats around the lazy river and kayak trips on the lake.

What is one of your favorite camp memories? I have a large number of pleasant camp memories, but if I were to choose something specific it would be counseling my first wilderness camp last summer.  The community of wilderness camp is completely different than anything I have ever experienced and I love that I am still able to discover new aspects of camp after so many summers.

A moment you have encountered God at camp/where you see him work the most? I see God a lot in the community of Lakeshore.  The unconditional love and acceptance I have experienced in the people and in my relationships at camp have given me such a clear picture of God’s love and grace and I am grateful to be a part of camp again this summer.

Sarah Anna Wilson: Resident Counselor

sarahanna-20141

“You are altogether beautiful, my love;
    there is no flaw in you.”– Song of Solomon 4:7

Age: 19

Hometown: Humboldt, TN

High School: South Gibson County 2012

College: Bethel University

Major: Elementary Education

Why did you choose to work at Lakeshore this summer?

There was a lot of prayer that went into applying to work at Lakeshore again this summer and I knew this was my calling for the summer. I couldn’t see myself doing anything else. I explain working at camp to “non-camp” people by simply saying this is any Christian college kid’s dream job. It is just a really great environment and community and I am so thankful to say that I am an RC for Summer 2014.

What does the ministry at Lakeshore mean to you?

This ministry really means everything to me here. Coming here as a child, I always looked up to the older people (counselors) and I knew from then on, my goal was to do what they do. They always made camp so fun and helped me have the desire to be on fire for Christ. The counselors that I have had in my many summers have impacted my life so much that I have chosen to work here and to even one day be an Elementary school teacher. I have come to camp ever since I went to Mommy and Me, way way back when and I have always come every single summer with my best friend Bethany. Now we have been on staff together two summers in a row! It is such a blessing to be able to work with her and the other young adults on staff. The campers that come here year after year and even the new ones I have yet to meet are amazing kids. They have changed my life and will continue to change my life so much more than I could have ever imagined.

Where did you hear about camp?

I heard about camp through my church because I grew up in a Methodist Church with my best friend Bethany, and that’s how we started going together. I can remember that one of our moms would drive us up there and then the other would pick us up. Eventually, we both were at the age of driving and that made both of our moms feel really sad (and old.) I can remember finally going around all of those curvy roads and seeing the sign and having all the butterflies in my stomach and then screaming, “We’re here! We’re here!”

Suzanne Harvey: Resident

Suzanne Harvey03

“Am I now trying to win the approval of human beings, or of God? Or am I trying to please people? If I were still trying to please people, I would not be a servant of Christ.” Galatians 1:10

Age: 20

Hometown: Jackson, TN

High School: Jackson Christian, 2011

College: Ole Miss

Major: Secondary English Education

Why did you choose to work at Lakeshore this summer? I chose to work at Lakeshore this summer because I want to help campers grow in their faith and discover who they are like my counselors helped me.

What does the ministry at Lakeshore mean to you? Lakeshore’s ministry means everything to me. I see the affect it has on everyone who comes to Lakeshore at any point in their life whether they are at camp or not. Lakeshore has been a huge part of my faith growth.  

Where did you hear about camp? I was an elementary and senior high camper, a volunteer counselor, and then a resident counselor.

suz-2014

Dream Job: Singer/Actress on Broadway

Favorite Camp Food: French toast sticks and bacon

Favorite Camp Game: Clothespin ninja

Fun fact: I know everything about Harry Potter.

What activity will you never skip? Archery, hands down.

What is your favorite combo from canteen? Dr. Pepper and Peanut Butter M&M’s

What are you most looking forward to this summer? I am most looking forward to having fun and sharing and growing in my faith with the campers and the other counselors and staff.

What is one of your favorite camp memories? One of my favorite camp memories is every meal with JR/SR Music and Drama last year.

A moment you have encountered God at camp/where you see him work the most? I have seen God work the most through campers, who were scared to open up about what they were struggling with, share their problems throughout the week so that we could help them through it.

Leave a Reply

