Meet Our Summer Staff: Ethan, Jeanie, & Juliana

Jeanie, Juliana, & Ethan are all joining us again for another summer as a part of Activity Staff. All 3 are actually serving camp in the exact same position as last summer. We are so excited to have their experience and love for Lakeshore with us this summer.

Ethan Buyer: Adventure Director

Image

“For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the LORD, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.” -Jeremiah 29:11

Age: 20

Hometown: Germantown

High School: Evangelical Christian School 2011

College: UTC

Major: Engineering Management

Why did you choose to work at Lakeshore this summer? To challenge the kids and show them Christ

What does the ministry at Lakeshore mean to you? Love and acceptance when we least deserve it

 What is your experience with Lakeshore in the past?

I volunteered one week in 2012 and fell in love. I worked last year as Adventure Director.

Image

Dream Job: working in the outdoor industry in Colorado

Favorite Camp Food: Frito Chili Pie!

Favorite Camp Game: survivor ball/tag

Fun fact: I’ve peed into the Grand Canyon

What makes your activity/position the best?

Showing the kids how to push themselves physically and mentally on the ropes course

What is your favorite combo from canteen? Fanta and Snickers ice cream

What are you most looking forward to this summer? friendship!

What is one of your favorite camp memories? Hanging out with cabin 8 at Senior High last summer

A moment you have encountered God at camp/where you see him work the most?

I see God in the woods when we get to play and explore

 

 

 

Jeanie Mask: Aquatics Director (Waterfront)

Image

Above all, love each other deeply, because love covers over a multitude of sins. -1 Peter 4:8

Age: 20

Hometown: Arlington

High School (year you graduated): Fayette Academy 2012

College: Bethel University

Major: Child Learning and Development and getting certified in Exceptional Learning and Development

Why did you choose to work at Lakeshore this summer?

Because I love the environment and I love working with children and sharing my love and passion for water and boating with them.

What does the ministry at Lakeshore mean to you?

To me this ministry means a place I can call home and feel loved and accepted no matter what.

What is your experience with Lakeshore in the past?

I have been going to camp since 6th grade.  I got certified the spring of 2010 and started volunteering as a counselor that summer.  I was on staff last summer as the Aquatics Director.  I have also helped with lots of retreats as a counselor, leadership, or just a run around person.

Image

Dream Job: To be a park ranger

Favorite Camp Food: Chicken strips or spaghetti

Favorite Camp Game: Sprinkle!

Fun fact: I am obsessed with Jake from the Neverland Pirates, but mainly just pirates in general

What makes your activity/position the best?

Because no showers, pee in the lake!! And you get to go out on the kayaks and if you are Jr/Sr you get to take the paddleboards out! Also you get to ride on the pontoon boat if you are Elementary which is the best!! And the sand is so great because you can build sandcastles!!

What is your favorite combo from canteen? Reese’s Ice-cream and coke

What are you most looking forward to this summer?

I am looking forward to sharing my love for water with all the campers and seeing their happy faces.  I am also looking forward to sharing love, laughter, acceptance, and pure joy with everyone who enters camp.

What is one of your favorite camp memories?

Last summer when I got to be a rapper/hip hop person for an entire week! It was one of the best weeks of my life!

A moment you have encountered God at camp/where you see him work the most?

I see God the most in the quiet campers opening up and becoming some of the loudest campers!

 

Juliana Halpern: Lifeguard

Image

He will yet fill your mouths with laughter and your lips with shouts of joy –Job 8:21

Age: 19

Hometown: Germantown, TN

High School (year you graduated): Houston High School 2012

College: UTC

Major: Early Childhood Education

Why did you choose to work at Lakeshore this summer?

I chose to work at Lakeshore this summer because I want to help others experience the joy and love that Christ has to offer. I learned so much about Christ’s love when I was a camper through the people on staff and I want to be that role model to the campers that I meet this summer.

What does the ministry at Lakeshore mean to you?

This ministry means the absolute world to me! It is a place where no matter where or who you are, you are welcomed and accepted with open hearts and arms. Without this ministry I would not be the person I am today.

Where did you hear about camp?

I started coming to camp when I was 6 and have never missed a summer! I started volunteer counseling in high school and last year I served as lifeguard on 2012 summer staff.

 

Juliana

Dream Job: star as the voice of Gossip Girl when they remake the tv show

Favorite Camp Food: COOKIES

Favorite Camp Game: survivor ball

Fun fact: I can make a dolphin noise

What makes your activity/position the best?

The best part about being lifeguard is watching kids make new friends and bond with their counselors while having fun in the pool.

What is your favorite combo from canteen?

dr. pepper, pretzels, and a butterfinger

What are you most looking forward to this summer?

building on old relationships and making new ones with anyone and everyone!

What is one of your favorite camp memories?

meeting my best friends

 

 

Leave a Reply

