More of our loving staff: Drew, Joe, & Juliana

Unfortunately  we did not get all the bios out before camp was over, but that doesn’t mean these three don’t deserve to be recognized. Drew and Juliana just finished their 1st year at part of the Lakeshore Summer Staff. Drew served as an RC for the summer. Juliana served with Kelsey Kennel as lifeguard at the pool. Drew is full of energy and a passion for sharing the gospel. He is dedicated to serving God and seeking knowledge from the scripture. He is a true spiritual leader in the making.  Juliana  understands kids and what they need. She has grown leaps and bonds over the summer, all in positive directions.  She loves this ministry and all those we seek to serve.  Joe served once again, this summer as an RC. Joe’s unique gift of truly understanding camper has been a blessing to watch. All three of these amazing staff members have had a huge impact on each and every camper they have come in contact with. I am so excited for the seeds they have planted, but even more excited to see them continue to spread the Gospel outside of Lakeshore.

-Tiffany

Drew Rochester

drew

 “But he said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you for my power is made perfect in weakness.”  So I will boast all the more gladly of my weaknesses so that the power of Christ may dwell in me.  Therefore I am content with weaknesses, hardships, persecutions, insults, injuries, and calamities for the sake of Christ; for when I am weak, then I am strong.”

-2 Corinthians 12:9-10

Hometown: Collierville, TN
High School: Collierville HS
College: UTK
Favorite Color: Blue
Hobbies: Camping, Frisbee
Favorite verse: 2 Corinthians 12:9-10
Favorite camp food: Cheesy breadsticks/ grilled cheese dipped in soup
Favorite camp activity: Pool basketball
A little about your experience coming to Lakeshore:
Grew up coming to camp, once I was old enough I was a wilderness camper all the way, VCed the last three summers. First year on staff.
A moment you encountered God or where you see God at camp:
The thing that’s always meant the most to me about Lakeshore is not the events or activities but the relationships.  Its a place to feel open and be yourself, and no cares if you look a little crazy or different.
What does this ministry mean to you?
Working at Lakeshore to me is the first step that I am taking in answering my call to further ministry in my life.  Lakeshore is the place where I learned so much about God, and I want to be able to impact others in the same way that I was.

Joe Montgomery

Joe

“He has shown you, O mortal, what is good.
And what does the Lord require of you?
To act justly and to love mercy
and to walk humbly with your God.”

-Micah 6:8

Hometown: Collierville, TN
High School: Collierville HS
College: its a secret
Favorite Color: Orange
Hobbies: Camping, sports, hiking, listening to music, & hanging out with friends
Favorite verse: Micah 6:8
Favorite camp food: Frito Chili Pie
Favorite camp activity: Whole Shabang!
A little about your experience coming to Lakeshore:
Joe was a main camp camper from 97-2010, wilderness camper 2003-2006, started counseling in 2007, Wilderness/ Oxley RC 2011, RC 2012 & 2013
 

 Juliana Halpern

juliana

“He will yet fill your mouth with laughter
and your lips with shouts of joy.”

-Job 8:21

Hometown: Germantown, TN
High School: Houston High School
College: The University of Tennessee at Chattanooga (go mocs!)
Major: Early Childhood Education
Dream Job: Kindergarten teacher
Favorite Color: blue
Hobbies: crafting, playing outside, having fun, taking selfies
Interesting Fact: I got the opportunity to drop kick Jack Dodson for a church skit
Favorite verse: Job 8:21
Favorite camp food: french toast sticks
Favorite camp activity: survivor ball

A little about your experience coming to Lakeshore:

        Coming to Lakeshore for me ran in the family. My brother and his friends always went to wilderness and I was always so jealous whenever they went to camp. When I was old enough I finally got the chance to go to elementary camp and I’ve been coming back ever since. I always went to main camp but I have fallen in love with all the specialty camps as well because they’re such a fun experience! The past two summers I was a vc and now I’m so excited to be on staff!

One of your many Favorite camp memories:

        My favorite camp memory was 2 years ago during DD week, a camp for children with special needs. During the week I met a camper who went to the same high school as me. The entire week he had trouble pronouncing my name and would call me “Banana”. On the very last day he gave me a hug and said “I’ll miss you Juliana”.

A moments you encountered God or where you see God at camp:
A place where I always see God is in the tabernacle. It’s my favorite place to have worship and to just sing my heart out.

What are you looking forward to the most?
I’m looking forward to getting to meet so many campers, both new and old, and getting to know them. I’m also so excited to spend time with different camps each week and I cannot wait to eat camp food!

Why did you apply to be on staff?
I knew from the moment I started coming to camp I wanted to be on staff. I always looked up to everyone on staff as a role model and I wanted to be that role model for someone else.

What does this ministry mean to you?
To me, this ministry is a second family. I have met some of my best friends here and they have taught me how to love unconditionally. This ministry has taught me so much about myself and also about my walk with Christ. I know that I can go up to anyone involved with this ministry and they would be willing to sit for hours and talk about anything.

What is something you want others who don’t know Summer Camp as well to know?
Don’t be afraid to try something new! Going to camp each summer was my favorite thing and looking back I wish I had tried a different camp like Wilderness. Whatever camp you go to be prepared to have so much fun and to meet some of your best friends! It’s truly an experience that has so many rewards in life!

Leave a Reply

