Meet Some of Our RC’s! Bethany and Suzanne

A beautiful thing I have realized about camp is that we offer opportunities for young adults to grow and learn.  Playing with kids is part of it, but the effects or benefit of this job are huge! This summer we were able to have 2 more 1st time Summer Staff members join us in growth, fellowship, and expressing God’s love. Bethany and Suzanne are both serving us this summer as Resident Counselors. Bethany has an amazing gift for speaking God’s message at worships. She has a kind  heart and a passion to ensure that everyone experience the love of Christ. Suzanne brings a lot of energy and a desire to serve with all she can. Suzanne and Bethany have grown so much over the summer learning to develop strong Christ-centered relationship with other young Christians. I am excited and proud of the work and growth that has blossomed this summer.

-Tiffany

Bethany Dietz

999347_10201607638255580_636743970_n

“I’m convinced that nothing can separate us from God’s love in Christ Jesus our Lord: not death or life, not angels or rulers, not present things or future things, not powers or height or depth, or any other thing that is created.” Romans 8:38-39

Hometown: Humboldt, TN

High School: University School of Jackson

College: University of Tennessee Knoxville

Major: Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering

Dream Job: either working with developing antibiotics or working with
energy efficiency

Favorite Color: blue

Hobbies: Sports, especially soccer and Frisbee, and outdoor adventures. HAMMOCKING

Interesting Fact: I’m missing a bone in one of my toes…

Favorite verse: Romans 8:38-39 AND Psalm 139:13-14

Favorite camp food: PANCAKES

Favorite camp activity: nature hikes, progressive games, high ropes

A little about your experience coming to Lakeshore:

I grew up coming to lakeshore, since I was 7 or 8, mostly main camps. I have vc’ed DD, elem, and jr high camps

One of your many Favorite camp memories:

Playing survivor ball with my brother

A moments you encountered God or where you see God at camp:

I’ve encountered God and His forgiving grace through all the worships
I’ve seen or helped planned. I constantly see God at camp through
joyful play and the staff working together to glorify God

What are you looking forward to the most?

I’m mostly looking forward to growing in my faith through community,
service, and play.

Why did you apply to be on staff?

I particularly love serving kids and youth, and I want to pass on
God’s love to them.

What does this ministry mean to you?

It’s a family business, like what Papa G says after communion. I’ve found community and family at camp. What better way to spread Jesus’ words than with your family? All in all, this is the ministry that raised me and it really is a home and a family to me in that way.

What is something you want others who don’t know Summer Camp as well to know?

Everything done is an intentional attempt to show campers Christ and
truth. Eating together, playing together, learning together. It’s all
done with purpose and love.

Suzanne Harvey

988230_10152958169210454_1953433734_n

“Love should be shown without pretending. Hate evil, and hold on to what is good. Love each other like the members of your family. Be the best at showing honor to each other.” Romans 12:9-10

Hometown: Jackson, TN

High School: Jackson Christian School

College: University of Mississippi

Major: English Education

Dream Job: Having a Lead Role on Broadway

Favorite Color: Red and yellow

Hobbies: Singing, playing soccer, reading, hanging with friends, sleeping

Interesting Fact: I performed on stage at Disney World as Sharpay in
High School Musical my senior year with my high school.

Favorite camp food: French Toast and Bacon

Favorite camp activity: Archery

A little about your experience coming to Lakeshore:

I went to Lakeshore a few summers when I was in elementary school,
and returned for Sr. High. I also went to 30 Hour Famine. I was a
volunteer counselor for two summers.

One of your many Favorite camp memories:

I have had many favorite camp memories, but I have to say my first
week volunteer counseling for Wilderness and bonding with all of the
campers and counselors was one of them.

A moments you encountered God or where you see God at camp:

I see God most at camp when a cabin bonds. Many of the campers come
in groups, and it is really awesome to see the boundaries of those
groups dissolve, and the cabin become one.

What are you looking forward to the most?
-I am looking forward to spending an entire summer doing what I love
to do most in my favorite place in the world.

Why did you apply to be on staff?

There are many answers to the question, but honestly, it’s because I
love being at Lakeshore, and I love getting to see campers grow in
their faith.

What does this ministry mean to you?

This ministry means more to me than I know how to explain. The people
at Lakeshore are a community where friendships never fall by the
wayside. Everyone is always there for each other, and I cannot wait to
make new friendships this summer and strengthen old ones.

What is something you want others who don’t know Summer Camp as well to know?

It’s not all bug spray and being outside in the heat of summer. It is
the best place in the world and the most fun you could ever have in a
week. Not only do you make lifelong friends, you learn a lot about
yourself and about God as well.

One thought on “Meet Some of Our RC’s! Bethany and Suzanne

Leave a Reply

