Meet Some of Our Activity Staff! Alex, Shawn, & Paige

Meet some of our Activity Staff for this summer. Alex Hartsell is serving as our Music Director. Alex is new to the Lakeshore Summer Staff Family. Alex has done a great job learning all our favorite songs, playing worships, being energetic during theme time, and making his mark here at camp. Shawn is a returning Summer Staff member joining us this summer as PUF. PUF stands for Program Utility Facilitator. He is responsible for running canteen, cookouts for Wilderness and Oxley,  ensuring camps have the supplies they need, and making sure everyone is taken care of. Paige is joining us after a 3 year sabbatical. This summer she is leading us in recreation. Paige has also just received her B.S. in Human Services and wanted me to let all our readers know that she is currently looking for a “big girl” job. Paige is a great friend; I’m so excited to have her back on staff.

Alex, Shawn, and Paige are all hard working goofy people. They take their job seriously but also know that showing campers love is more than a job, but part of this ministry.  I am thrilled to introduce you to this part of our Summer Staff.

-Tiffany

Alex Hartsell

iphone 001

iphone 002
“Love does not delight in evil but rejoices with the truth. 7 It always protects, always trusts, always hopes, always perseveres.”
1 Corinthians 13:6-7
Hometown: Paris, TN
High School: Henry County High School
College: Mississippi State University
Major: Civil Engineering
Favorite Color: Blue
Hobbies: Playing the guitar, Spending time outdoors, Being active
Interesting Fact: I am a New Year’s Baby
Favorite camp food: Rolls
Favorite camp activity: Talent show
“My role at Lakeshore has mainly been as a volunteer counselor. I was a camper twice at senior high main camp. This is my first summer on staff as the music director; I’m extremely excited.”
One of your many Favorite camp memories: Will not post campers names
My favorite camp memory would have to be the rap that I helped write and perform at a senior high main camp talent show with two people who are very close to me.
A moments you encountered God or where you see God at camp
I’ve always seen God in the pure joy and excitement that the campers bring with them to camp. I’ve also seen God in the kids who have come to camp nervous and anxious but ultimately leaving later in the week having had the best time.
What are you looking forward to the most?
I most look forward to helping the campers see and get closer to God by utilizing the gifts and talents He has blessed me with.
What does this ministry mean to you?
To me, this ministry means the world. Lakeshore helps build and strengthen relationships among campers and with God. I feel this is one of the most important things we do and the fact that I can help a camper grow spiritually means a lot to me.

Shawn Schuring

image

Shawn and camper James (Beans) Laughlin

“Love must be sincere. Hate what is evil; cling to what is good. 10 Be devoted to one another in love. Honor one another above yourselves.11 Never be lacking in zeal, but keep your spiritual fervor, serving the Lord. 12 Be joyful in hope,patient in affliction, faithful in prayer. 13 Share with the Lord’s people who are in need. Practice hospitality. 14 Bless those who persecute you; bless and do not curse. 15 Rejoice with those who rejoice; mourn with those who mourn. 16 Live in harmony with one another. Do not be proud, but be willing to associate with people of low position.[a] Do not be conceited.”

-Romans 12:9-16

Hometown: Murray, KY

High School: Murray High School

College: Murray State University

Major: Elementary Education

Dream Job: 4th or 5th Grade Teacher

Favorite Color: Blue

Hobbies: Hunting, camping, hiking, and carpentry

Interesting Fact: I have traveled coast to coast in an 18-wheeler

Favorite camp food: Frito Chili Pie

Favorite camp activity: Nature Time, or I like to call it “Neature Time” because nature is pretty neat

 

“While I was growing up in Iowa, I had never even heard of Lakeshore. I had always had the dream to be a camp counselor to give the amazing experience of being at camp. It wasn’t until I was a senior in high school that I had the opportunity to come to Lakeshore. My first experience at camp was counselor certification in November of 2009. The next summer, summer of 2010, I signed up to go to Senior High Wilderness. After that summer I knew that this would be the place that I fulfill my dream of being a camp counselor. The next summer I applied to be on staff, and now I am going to be coming back for my 3rd summer! While working at Lakeshore I have served as Resident Counselor for my first two summer, and this summer I am going to be serving as the camp Program Utility Facilitator and Canteen Manager also known as PUF.”

One of your many Favorite camp memories:

One of my favorite camp memories would have to be floating the Buffalo with Matthew Owens and Thomas Cochran.

 A moments you encountered God or where you see God at camp:

I encountered God last summer when I lead Jr. High worship in the ARC (Alford Recreational Center). I remember planning a lot of what I wanted to say to the campers, but once I started to speak the word that spoke were not mine and I could tell that they were words that God wanted to campers to hear.

What are you looking forward to the most?

As PUF I will have very early morning where I get to head up the hill to the Wilderness camp and cook them breakfast. I am looking forward to this because when I wake up, camp will be peaceful. There will be no campers running around no camp activities going on, a side of camp that not many people get to see going on during the week.

Why did you apply to be on staff?

I applied to be on staff because of how much you get back from being there. I love how your pour and pour and pour your heart into the Lakeshore and campers, but at the same time Lakeshore and the campers are pouring and pouring and pouring into you as well.

What does this ministry mean to you?

To me, Lakeshore is a ministry where I can see everything that I put into it. I love that I can see my campers develop over the week, and even years. It warms my heart to know that what I do each summer has a huge impact on each and every camper I encounter.

What is something you want others who don’t know Summer Camp as well to know?

The people that you will meet at camp are different. Yes we are different breed of crazy that you will never see anywhere else, but with that comes a natural bond that will not be weakened by distance or time or formalities. If someone says, “I have been to Lakeshore,” there is this bond of love for a place that is indescribably special.

Paige Martin

5972_1158258965639_1502700070_30402702_269341_n

“Consider it pure joy, my brothers and sisters, whenever you face trials of many kinds, because you know that the testing of your faith produces perseverance. Let perseverance finish its work so that you may be mature and complete, not lacking anything.”

-James 1:2-4

Hometown: Camden Tennessee

High School: Camden Central High School

College: Bethel University

Major: Human Services

Dream Job: Any job that involves helping children

Favorite Color: Green

Hobbies: Playing tennis, being outdoors, journaling, and being with friends and family.

Interesting Fact: One of my legs is a lot shorter than the other.

Favorite verse: James 1:2-4

Favorite camp food: Chicken Strips and mac &cheese

Favorite camp activity: Kayaking on the lake

“I grew up attending Lakeshore as a camper, and once I turned 15 I attended the volunteer certification weekend. I spent my summers throughout High School volunteering at camp, as well as attending as a camper.  In 2009 I was given the opportunity to join the 2009 summer staff as a RC.  The next year I was blessed to rejoin the Lakeshore staff as part as the 2010 summer staff.”

One of your many Favorite camp memories: 

–  I have had so many amazing memories at camp; however I think my favorite memories were actually made on the weekends.  Being on staff you are always busy doing something, so I loved just being able to hang out with everyone on the weekends and do random things around camp.  Whether it was playing wolf in the conference center, or just lying in the rain with friends we always found something fun to do and it made us all grow closer as a staff.

A moments you encountered God or where you see God at camp

– I see God at camp the most by being out in nature.  I love being out on the lake and watching the sun rise and set over it.  I see God in the creek, stars, ad trees. I think it is impossible to go anywhere on camp’s ground and not feel God’s presence.

What are you looking forward to the most?

– This summer I am on activity staff which is really exciting for me, but it also scares me to death because all I have ever known at camp was being a counselor. However, I am really looking forward to facing the challenge and really growing closer to God while being in this position.  I am looking forward to bringing new games to camp, but I am also looking forward to getting to know as many of the kids as I possibly can. I’m also looking forward to watching kids be kids again and getting to be part of the fun they are going to have at camp.

Why did you apply to be on staff?

-I applied for staff this summer because I honestly felt like my time at camp was not over.  I am 22 and about the graduate from college, but I knew that before I was able to go out into the “real world” I still had work left at camp to be finished.  I knew God was calling me back to camp and I am looking forward to see what he has in store for me this summer.

 What does this ministry mean to you?

-This ministry means the world to me.  Lakeshore has played such an important part in my life, and being able to share those experiences with kids is like a dream come true.  I love being able to not only be a friend to the kids at camp, but I also love watching their faith grow each time they return to camp.  It’s such a blessing to be part of such an amazing place that has impacted so many lives.

What is something you want others who don’t know Summer Camp as well to know?

I want others to know how holy Lakeshore’s grounds are.  I also want people to know how influential camp is for so many people.  I know lots of camps are just a place for kids to go for a week in the summer, but Lakeshore is so much more than that.  Lakeshore is a home away from home for so many kids as well as adults.  I know that I will still continue to get chills when I round the corner before I see camp’s sign even long after I stop working here.

Leave a Reply

