Meet our Activity Staff: Teela, Sarah Jane, & Kelsey

Teela, Sarah Jane, & Kelsey are 3 of several of our summer staff that are back for a 3rd summer. Teela is serving us this summer as “Craft Master”.  Teela brings a lot of energy and passion to have a great experience here at camp.  She is full of creative ideas and loves to spread glitter everywhere she can. Sarah Jane is back serving us once again as 1st Aid Director. Sarah Jane is a true example of using God’s calling to serve here at camp. God has used her knowledge, passion to help others, and a desire to serve in the medical field, to help heal campers and staff throughout the summer. Kelsey is serving here this summer as a lifeguard. Kelsey is a great staff member, responsible, and has a passion for loving kids. I am proud to introduce you all to 3 of our summer staff members and some great leaders. They all have a unique way of loving and sharing Christ.

-Tiffany

Teela Kay Etheridge

Teela

“Look at the birds of the air; they do not sow or reap or store away in barns, and yet your heavenly Father feeds them. Are you not much more valuable than they? 27 Can any one of you by worrying add a single hour to your life”

-Matthew 6:26-27

Hometown: Almo, KY (Murray)
High School: Calloway County High School
College: Murray State University
Major: Youth and Nonprofit Leadership
Dream Job: opening a center of sports and dance/step in an inner city neighborhood offering kids an alternative to gang activity or any negative activity at all
Favorite Color: GLITTER
Hobbies: I work too much to have hobbies
Interesting Fact: I can’t drink the milk at the bottom of the cereal bowl. I have to eat it with a spoon. The cereal remnants make me want to vomit.
Favorite verse: Matthew 6: 26-27
Favorite camp food: COOKIES
Favorite camp activity: High ropes
“Camper since age 8, main camp kid always, VCed for 4 summers, RC for 2 summers, 30 hour famine 3 years, retreats with Paris First”
One of your many Favorite camp memories:
Getting to open Friday night worship of my last senior high in prayer. The whole week is really my favorite week I’ve probably ever had at camp.
A moments you encountered God or where you see God at camp:
The same story. I had lost my voice completely (shocker) but Steven asked me to pray anyway and when I did, I had all the voice that I needed to pray. I truly felt God in that place and that moment more than I probably ever had before. I am closest to God at camp sitting on the wall of the boy’s vesper ring looking out onto the lake.
What are you looking forward to the most?
Being craft master!
Why did you apply to be on staff?
To love kids and fulfill our calling as Christians to love everyone that we come in contact with.
What does this ministry mean to you?
“There aren’t even words for what Lakeshore means to me. I have literally grown up at this camp and I know that I would not be the person that I am today if it wasn’t for Lakeshore, the faith that is has given me and the people that it has placed in my life. I wish everyone in the world could experience the love that I have experienced through camp.”

Sarah Jane Camper

Sarah Jane Camper and kis

“There is a time for everything,
and a season for every activity under the heavens:

    a time to plant and a time to uproot,
a time to tear down and a time to build,
a time to mourn and a time to dance,
a time to embrace and a time to refrain from embracing,
a time to keep and a time to throw away,

a time to be silent and a time to speak, a time for war and a time for peace.”

-Ecclesiastes 3:1-3

Hometown: Milan, TN

High School: Milan High School
College: Vanderbilt University
Major: Molecular and Cellular Biology
Dream Job: Pediatrician
Favorite Color: Purple
Hobbies: Marching Band (mellophone a.k.a. marching french horn)
Interesting Fact: My favorite animal is a cow =)
Favorite verse: Ecclesiastes 3:1-8
Favorite camp food: Pancakes with peanut butter
Favorite camp activity: Crafts!
“I started going to camp in 1999. I went to the parent/child overnight with my mom and little sister. Then the next year I went to Primary, then elementary, then jr. high, then senior high until I graduated high school. I was always a main camp camper. I was a VC for one summer in high school. Then I applied for staff for Summer 2011 and got hired as the First Aid Director and have worked in that position since then.”
A moments you encountered God or where you see God at camp:
The biggest God-is-here moment I had as a camper was after hearing a staff member pray at a worship in elementary camp. He prayed to God like they were best friends and that really stuck with me throughout my life. Then as a staffer a couple of us were at the waterfront during a storm and I could really really feel God’s power as the water crashed around us.
What are you looking forward to the most?
I am looking forward to seeing all the campers this summer. Each year I get to see old faces that I’ve missed and new faces. The campers are always so inspiring and teach me amazing things about life, love, and the God of Grace.
Why did you apply to be on staff?
I applied to be on staff because this is what I want to do for the rest of my life. I want to be a pediatrician and help kids for the rest of my life, so working at Lakeshore as the first aid director is the most perfect job in the world for me.
What does this ministry mean to you?
This ministry offers the opportunity for everyone to disconnect from the rush of the world and connect to the God that created them and the world around them. I love the opportunity to be a part of this awesome ministry that gives me the chance to be a part of changing lives.
What is something you want others who don’t know Summer Camp as well to know?
I want everyone to know that Lakeshore is a blessed place. It has the ability to bring together the most opposite of children and allow them to worship together, play together, and grow together. It is a life-changing experience.

Kelsey Kennel

7798_10151517657326705_228432272_n

“Now faith is confidence in what we hope for and assurance about what we do not see.”
-Hebrews 11:1
Hometown: Collierville, TN
High School: Collierville High School
College: University of Tennessee, Knoxville GO VOLS!
Major: Elementary Education and Spanish
Dream Job: To teach Kindergarten!!
Favorite Color: PINK
Hobbies: Softball, taking pictures, shopping
Interesting Fact: I have the hiccups all the time
Favorite verse: Hebrews 11:1
Favorite camp food: Spaghetti and the Breadsticks with cheese inside
Favorite camp activity: Playing Knockout/Gotcha on the blacktop
“I have grown up coming to Lakeshore every summer since 1st grade. I could not have imagined a better way to spend my summers than at Lakeshore growing up. Most people consider me a girly girl, but I actually went to many Wilderness camps! Once I was too old to be a camper, I was a Volunteer counselor for one summer, a Resident counselor for two summers, and will now be one of the Lifeguards this summer!”
One of your many Favorite camp memories: 
Too many to count!
A moments you encountered God or where you see God at camp: 
One specific time was on the pontoon boat at night when we had an Oxley worship out on the water
What are you looking forward to the most? 
I am looking forward to fun days at the pool! Taylor Swift music playing, lazy river tube riders going round and round, and games of basketball and water polo!! All watching from the lifeguard stand of course!!
Why did you apply to be on staff? 
I applied to be on staff to hopefully be a positive role model to campers and to show them that Lakeshore is a place where they can feel loved and special no matter what!
What does this ministry mean to you? 
This ministry means so much to me and I have l grown to learn that it doesn’t just exist at Lakeshore but it exists at everyplace you take it with you to.
What is something you want others who don’t know Summer Camp as well to know? 
Summer camp is a place that lets you come out of your comfort zone and meet so many new friends that will last a life time!
Leave a Reply

