Meet some of our RCs: Jack, Tyler, & Abigail

Our Resident Counselors (RCs) this summer have lived up to the challenge and expectation of following a long list of amazing Lakeshore Counselors! This summer we have had the honor of have these three very special RCs.  Jack, Tyler, & Abigail all bring a special something to camp. Jack and Tyler are both 1st time summer staff members. Jack has grown into an amazing spiritual leader in such a short time period. It seems like yesterday that Emily Dodson (Jack’s older sister, a former staff member, and a dear friend of mine) and several of us summer staffers were constantly telling Jack about the wonders of Lakeshore. Like several other teenage boys he was not buying it. Lots of prayer and some very unique situations landed Jack at Sr. High. It has been an honor and privilege to see him grow in his faith and as a person. Jack bring a heart to love and share Christ that comes from a very unique personal spiritual background. Tyler has been wonderful getting to know. Tyler is the younger brother of current staff member Kelsey Kennel. Tyler seems reserved at first but you would never know it if you are around his cabin for very long.  Tyler is full of a special energy that makes a great counselor. He is loud, fun, a great leader, and a spiritual guide. Tyler transforms for the occasion. Abigail is returning after 2 summers as Music Director. Abigail’s new adventure takes her down another road here at Lakeshore. The transition between to two different areas of camp is not always the easiest, but Abigail has found her love for counseling. She is very unique in her style. She has no problem playing games and being silly with all ages. While she is silly and loud she holds true to our mission. Abigail has no fear of pushing campers to discover a deeper understanding of God’s love.

I am excited to introduce you all to a few of my RCs for my 1st summer.

-Tiffany

Jack Dodson

Jack

Jack with a camper at Camp Joy!

“I feel that this ministry does a great job of developing relationships with God, yourself, others, and nature. I feel that these relationships are essential to live a fruitful, faith-driven life.”
Hometown: Germantown, TN
High School: Houston High School
College: UTK
Major: Business
Favorite Color: Blue
Hobbies: Lacrosse and rock climbing
Interesting Fact: Born on the 4th of July
Favorite camp food: Tacos
“My sister and her friends from Lakeshore convinced me to go to Sr. High camp as a freshman. I spent the next two summers volunteering as much as I could. I’m excited for my first summer as a RC.”
One of your many Favorite camp memories:
Watching fireworks at the waterfront on the fourth of July.
A moments you encountered God or where you see God at camp:
Planning worships are a good way to get into His word and learn. Its a good way to refresh myself on ideas and I connect with God in sharing those ideas to campers during worship.
What are you looking forward to the most?
I’m looking forward to starting and developing friendships.
What does this ministry mean to you?
I feel that this ministry does a great job of developing relationships with God, yourself, others, and nature. I feel that these relationships are essential to live a fruitful, faith-driven life.

Tyler Kennel

Tyler

Tyler (far right) with campers at wilderness

Hometown: Collierville,TN

High School: Collierville High School

College: University of Tennessee Knoxville

Major: Computer Engineering

Favorite Color: Orange

Hobbies: Backpacking, Camping

Favorite camp food: Spaghetti and Breadsticks

Favorite camp activity: Swimming and Creek Stomping

“I started at Lakeshore by going to Primary Elementary and eventually started going to Wilderness camp. My favorite camp is Senior High Watersports Wilderness.”

A moments you encountered God or where you see God at camp:

I see God at every camp hanging out with campers and seeing the joy on their faces as they grow closer to Him over the week.

What does this ministry mean to you?

This ministry is family. I still keep in touch with a variety of people I have met over the years through camps, retreats, and certifications. This great group of people have been a terrific influence on my walk with Christ.

 Abigail Day Swan

Abigail

Abigail (far right) with Sr. High Campers this summer

“I want everyone to know what a life changing experience camp can be! So many things I’ve learned at camp and so many people I’ve met at camp have helped me make my life what it is today, and it can be that way for anyone. I can’t express the ways that God has worked through camp to help me and make me who I am!”
Hometown: Memphis, TN
High School: Harding Academy
College: Middle Tennessee State University
Major: Spanish
Dream Job: Spanish teacher!
Favorite Color: Electric Blue
Hobbies: Cooking, reading, playing board games, making music
Interesting Fact: I’m allergic to rabbits
Favorite verse: Psalm 18:29 “With my God I can scale a wall.”
Favorite camp food: Pizza!
Favorite camp activity: Tug boat race at Water Olympics!!!
 “I started coming to camp in 2005 for Junior High. After that, I never missed a summer; I did everything from main camp to Arts and Crafts and Watersports. I only volunteer counseled a few times, but I spent my last two years as Music Director which felt fitting since I learned to play guitar at camp! “
One of your many Favorite camp memories:
Floating the Buffalo as a Watersports camper.
A moment you encountered God or where you see God at camp:
I see God in all the campers and the way they interact with each other and God.
What are you looking forward to the most?
I’m really, really looking forward to being a counselor and having my own cabin of kids to hang out with!
Why did you apply to be on staff?
I loved my past two summers on staff and I knew I wanted to spend another summer sharing God with kids and getting closer to Him myself.
What does this ministry mean to you?
Lakeshore is a really special thing. So many people from camp have made a huge impact on my life and continue to every day. Lakeshore has shaped the way and what I believe; camp and the people I’ve met at camp constantly challenge me to think about what I believe and try to live it every day. to me, Lakeshore means growing in God with others and helping others come to know and love God. Lakeshore means helping every person who steps foot on our property know that they have been and are constantly in the Presence of God.

Leave a Reply

