Meet Our Summer Staff- Ellis & Sumner

Meet two of our wonderful Resident Counselors. Ellis and Sumner are both returning to fulfill their call for a second summer. Ellis brings a loving heart and a passion to share God’s love with everyone. Sumner is full of energy and a true child like faith.  Please be in prayer for both of them as they play, sing, keep up with campers,  and pour out God’s love.

Julia (Ellis) Bagley

photo (1) 

“Let your light shine before men in such a way that they may see your good works and glorify your Father who is in heaven.” Matthew 5:16

Hometown: Parsons, Tennessee

High School: Riverside High School

College: University of Tennessee at Chattanooga

Major: Psychology with a minor in religion

Dream Job: stay at home mom with a specialty in style and cooking

Favorite Color: earthy colors

Hobbies: candle/perfume connoisseur, good conversation,books, sushi, playing the question game, and zodiac signs.

Interesting Fact: I collect crosses.

Favorite camp food: biscuits and gravy/cheesey bread sticks

Favorite camp activity: good conversation in the lazy river

Started my camp experience with mommy and me, then went consecutively to elementary, junior high, senior high camps, and also wilderness water sports and then I started to volunteer counsel when I turned 15. Last year I also served a year on staff.

Share a moment when you have seen God at work while at camp:

In the craft hut I have had some of the best conversations with peers and campers. Quality time at camp is where I learned what true Christian fellowship is.

What are you looking forward to the most?

New relationships with peers, campers, and anyone in between.

What does this ministry mean to you?

Our mission statement says it the best we …”offer All ways of encountering life, love and the God of Grace.” This place is a place of acceptance and open arms and anyone that has ever been apart of the Lakeshore community can attest to that. I have always felt God working through the people at Lakeshore and I hope to continue that.

Sumner Gilliam

photo (2)

“But now, this is what the Lord says—
    he who created you, Jacob,
    he who formed you, Israel:
“Do not fear, for I have redeemed you;
    I have summoned you by name; you are mine.
When you pass through the waters,
    I will be with you;
and when you pass through the rivers,
    they will not sweep over you.
When you walk through the fire,
    you will not be burned;
    the flames will not set you ablaze.
For I am the Lord your God,
    the Holy One of Israel, your Savior;
I give Egypt for your ransom,
    Cush[a] and Seba in your stead.”

                                                                        -Isaiah 43:1-3

Hometown: Martin, Tennessee High School: Westview High School
College: The University of Tennessee (Knoxville)
Major: Undecided
Favorite Color: Orange
Hobbies: Marching Band
Interesting Fact: I am in love with musicals
Favorite camp food: Sludge (PB&J)
Favorite camp activity: Beach Time

 I basically grew up as a camper. I was on staff last year for the first time and before that I VC for 3 years. One of my favorite camp memories is any time me and Andrew Barton had bro talk!

Share a moment where you have seen God at work while at camp:

I’ve encountered God while building friendships with people I’ve never met before on staff.

What are you looking forward to the most?

Being able to help those around me grow in God and to have another summer of serving him.

Why did you apply to be on staff?

To not only to teach others about God but to be taught by others about God. One of the greatest things about this job is that you’d be amazed how much the campers can teach you about God true love through their actions and words.

What does this ministry mean to you?

This ministry helps me become a better man of God that one day I can look back at my life and see this place being a strong foundation in my faith.
What is something you want others who don’t know Summer Camp as well to know?

That you will make life long friendships that will help your faith in so many wonderful ways.

One thought on “Meet Our Summer Staff- Ellis & Sumner

  1. Looking forward to hearing more about all the summer staff! It is inspiring to hear the comments and thoughts of these young people. We need positive christian role models for our children today and these folks are filling that need.

Leave a Reply

