Meet Our Staff: Keith Schaal & Sara Mischke

Meet two of our Resident Counselors (RCs). Keith is a 1st time summer staff person with a lot of experience volunteering. He is full of energy and passion for his campers. Sara is a returning Resident Counselor. Sara is a great counselor always seen having fun with her girls no matter what it might be. Both Keith and Sara being a passion not only for Lakeshore but also for helping their campers grow in their faith.

Keith Schaal

My command is this: Love each other as I have loved you.  Greater love has no one than this: to lay down one’s life for one’s friends.

-John 15:12-13

 

Name: Keith Patrick Schaal
Hometown: Paris, Tennessee and Nashville, Tennessee
High School: Henry County High School
College: University of Tennessee at Chattanooga
Major: Environmental Engineering with a minor in Business Administration
Favorite Color: Turquoise
Hobbies: Running, climbing, playing, relaxing, swimming, biking, Frisbee, soccer
Interesting Fact: I’ve never had my toenails painted.
Favorite camp food: Bacon
Favorite camp activity: Basketball

A little about your experienc  coming to Lakeshore: grew up coming, newer, what camps, vc? returning staff? retreats anything
Came to senior high all four years, VCed for 10 weeks, a few 30 hour famines, a few fall retreats, first year on staff

One of your many Favorite camp memories: Will not post campers names
A girl believing that I lived in the woods and only came out to help kids creek stomp. She called me “mountain man”

A moments you encountered God or where you see God at camp
I always see God when I watch the waves as I sit on the dock

What are you looking forward to the most?
Playing with kids and teaching about God

Why did you apply to be on staff?
So I could help kids learn about God through playing games and having fun.

What does this ministry mean to you?
I think it’s a beautiful thing because it allows God to come into the lives of all every, unique kid that goes here. It means a lot to me to be a part of that.

What is something you want others who don’t know Summer Camp as well to know?
We like to have fun and learn about God. Come join us.

Sara Mischke

sara and evans

 “Therefore I tell you, do not worry about your life, what you will eat or drink; or about your body, what you will wear. Is not life more than food, and the body more than clothes? 26 Look at the birds of the air; they do not sow or reap or store away in barns, and yet your heavenly Father feeds them.Are you not much more valuable than they?” Matthew 6:25-26

Name: Sara Ellen Mischke
Hometown: Trenton, TN
High School: Peabody High School
College: University of Tennessee Chattanooga 
Major: Psychology
Dream Job: counseling teens while we are out in nature
Favorite Color: maroony purple
Hobbies: playing with my puppy, painting my nails, watching movies, and taking walks
Interesting Fact: I’m allergic to kiwi!
Favorite camp food: pudding
Favorite camp activity: crafts
A little about your experience coming to Lakeshore: grew up coming, newer, what camps, vc? returning staff? retreats anything: I started coming as a camper the first year that my older sister was on staff (after my 4th grade). I was a die-hard Wilderness camper! I started VC-ing as soon as a could, and I did at least 2 weeks each summer. I applied the summer after my Freshman year of college. Last summer I was a RC. I am a returning RC this summer. I also did various retreats with my home church while in middle school and high school. 
One of your many Favorite camp memories: Will not post campers names As a camper at Wilderness one night we had a worship in which we we blindfolded and then put together in small groups. Each group had a counselor leader who was not blindfolded. The worship had stations at which we stopped at on our way up the Wilderness hill. I remember about half way up the hill it started pouring down rain. This was difficult to keep walking and listening to the scriptures, but was so amazing because without the sense of sight you were truly humbled and aware of what God was doing in nature. It was beautiful. Once all of the group made it to the top of the hill. We took off our blindfolds and sang so loudly in the rain.
A moments you encountered God or where you see God at camp: I see God at low ropes. I love looking up through the trees and seeing the light shine through. Low ropes is also a challenging thing for campers. We go through low ropes (cabin/small group challenges) to build trust and begin/strengthen our relationships with those who we will be spending the next week with. It is one of my favorite activities because you get to see campers open up. Low ropes also gives a great chance to really learn things about your campers.
What are you looking forward to the most?
This summer I’m looking forward to planning new, different worships.
What does this ministry mean to you?
I feel like  after I started going to camp my relationship with God grew deeper. Lakeshore is a place where imperfect people long to assist in the spiritual growth of other imperfect people (campers and counselors alike). We are accepting and loving, and would really like to play with you and teach you about the love of God.
What is something you want others who don’t know Summer Camp as well to know?
Come spend time with us. We love to listen. We love to share. We can just sit if that’s what you’d like. One of the things I like most about Summer Camp is that it’s not pushy.

 

Leave a Reply

