Meet our Summer Staff- Megan and Ben

Well since camp is within countdown range we thought it would be a good idea to introduce those mysterious Summer Staffers we hired a few months ago. Thank you all for your prayers in the whole process and I ask for continual prayer as they finish up school and prepare for this journey.

MEET MEGAN MONTGOMERY: WILDERNESS/ OXLEY RESIDENT COUNSELOR  

“Beloved, let us love one another, for love is from God and whoever loves has been born of God and knows God.”- 1 John 4:7
Megan and Charley
Hometown: Union City, TN
High School: Obion County Central
College: University of Tennessee Chattanooga
Major: Communication
Favorite Color: Pink
Hobbies: Running, hiking, hammocking, playing outside
Interesting Fact: I love fake tattoos and reading out loud
Favorite Camp Food: Chocolate chip cookies, rolls and honey
Favorite camp activity: Progressive games, sitting in the lazy river, low ropes, jumping off the pontoon boat
My first time at camp was when I was a Primary Elementary camper. My twin sister and I went together. After that, I didn’t return to camp until Senior High camp in 2008 and continued until 2010. I was counselor certified in February of 2009. I started volunteer counseling that summer. I counseled at two elementary camps and Primary Elementary that summer. I volunteered at the same camps in 2010 as well as a junior high camp. Throughout high school, I attended the 30 Hour Famine retreat every year as well as one of the fall retreats. I applied for staff after my senior year of high school in 2011, and I was hired as the Lifeguard. I volunteered at a Confirmation retreat February of 2012, and I was hired that summer as a Resident Counselor. This is my third summer on staff as the Wilderness/Oxley Resident Counselor
FAVORITE CAMP MEMORY:
One of my favorite memories as a camper was staying up all night with one of my friends my last year at Senior High, and going to the girls vesper ring to watch the sun rise. On activity staff, my favorite memories were leading All-Camp activities, afternoon progressive games, and reading books to campers at night. Counseling, I love sitting in the lazy river, and all the random times I find myself in conversation with campers.
WHERE HAVE YOU EXPERIENCED GOD?
At camp, I see God most in conversation with campers wherever that happens. I see God in the little things throughout my day whether it is braiding hair, reading out loud, or sitting at the rocking chairs during canteen. I love being outside, especially in the rain. One specific moment God overwhelmed me at camp was my first summer on staff after a worship on the wilderness hill. The wind started blowing. It was thundering and lightning, and we were worshiping. It was awesome!
WHAT ARE YOU LOOKING FORWARD TO THE MOST?
I’m looking forward to being at Wilderness and Oxley all summer, driving boats, getting tan, not taking showers, and Hawaiian burgers.
WHY DID YOU APPLY FOR SUMMER STAFF AT LAKESHORE?
 I applied to be on staff because I feel that God has more ways to use me at camp this summer.
WHAT DOES THE MINISTRY OF LAKESHORE MEAN TO YOU?
This ministry is a home to many people, but I’ve learned that a home has less to do with a physical place, and more to do with the people you share it with. I’m so thankful for the experience to share this home and this summer with such great people. I love having the opportunity to share what I feel at camp with all the campers that come throughout the summer and having the opportunity for God to speak to me and through me.
WHAT DO YOU WANT OTHERS TO KNOW ABOUT LAKESHORE?
Camp is a great place to seperate yourself from the thoughts that overwhelm your everyday life like school, friends, and especially social media. Without distraction, it is easy to learn a lot about yourself and be able to listen more closely to what God is trying to speak to your heart.
MEET BENJAMIN (BEN) BURKEEN: RESIDENT COUNSELOR 

Image

“Light is sweet, and it pleases the eyes to see the sun.”- Ecclesiastes 11:7
Hometown: Collierville, Tennessee
High School: Collierville High School
College: University of Alabama
Major: Economics
Dream Job: Be the next Bob Barker / Drew Carey on the Price is Right
Favorite Color: Crimson
Hobbies: Nap time, sitting in the sun
Interesting Fact: My biggest fear is drowning in syrup
Favorite camp food: Cheesy bread sticks
Favorite camp activity: Worship
                                  Benjamin (Ben) Burkeen (far left, yellow tank)
I grew up coming to Wilderness camp along with various church retreats. I knew I always wanted to be a counselor and was certified Spring of ’09. I’ve spent all my summers since then counseling and was a Resident Counselor last summer.
FAVORITE CAMP MEMORIES:
The entirety of DD camp is a memory in and of itself. By far some of my favorite weeks at camp.

WHAT ARE YOU LOOKING FORWARD TO TO THE MOST?
I am so looking forward to finding out what camps I get to work this summer! 

WHERE HAVE YOU EXPERIENCED GOD AT CAMP?
I see God on chaotic days where everything eventually falls into place. And I especially see God in fellow staff members who keep Love in the forefront of their minds during those wild times.

WHAT DOES THIS MINISTRY MEAN TO YOU?
There aren’t enough words to describe the feeling fully, but this ministry to me is genuine and an embodiment of the God of Love         every single day.

WHAT DO YOU WANT OTHERS TO KNOW ABOUT LAKESHORE?
Camp is more than just a fun escape for the campers and the staff. It is home for many of us as well, in every sense of the word.

Leave a Reply

