This week at camp 9/20-26

This week, we’ve done our work looking over our shoulders to see what the sky looked like. At any moment it could change from the light powder blue that meant sunshine and fresh air to a gray that means mugginess the threat of rain. Then, who knows if it will get to that navy blue color that means you better get under something soon or have a change of clothes on you. I realize that I generally first look at a week based on its weather, but this week’s weather has been interesting. We’ve had the first real heavy rain in about a month, but you can’t really predict when it’s going to show up or how long it will stay. Even now, I don’t know what’s going to happen as I join a volunteer of ours who is coming to do some trail works. We get out there, swing the pick axe one good time, and then get hit with a torrential downpour.

I moved a cedar tree from up on the hill near my house to our prayer labyrinth upon Gary’s request for some low cost decorative trees. I dug it up with a shovel, and moved it down to a spot Corky pointed out as a relatively unrocky spot (which is a bit of a novelty in Benton County). It’s a pretty simple process, and cedar trees are very good at taking to the new surroundings as long as they get some light. When you plant a tree, the experts tell you that the first thing you need to do after sinking the tree in the ground is to give it a heavy watering. I guess this helps the soil pack itself around the roots, giving it a firmer foundation. It helps it wrap around the roots better than your packing could possibly do on its own. Then, the water also nourishes this tree that is probably in a bit of shock from being yanked up out of the place it thought it would spend its whole life. I did not bother to water the tree, since we had had so much rain before. But, I realized it didn’t really matter anyway. I had just gotten back into my office, when the sky opened up and let a heavy dose of rain fall on Lakeshore. It’s nice to have these little blessings.

This week, we have Middle Tennessee Camp Bluebird visiting us. It is a camp for Cancer Survivors that operates all over. West Tennessee Camp Bluebird has been having their camp here far longer than I have been going to camp here, but this is Middle Tennessee’s first year with us. These retreats are a lot of fun to witness. They chose a theme and decorate the Conference Center, and they go all out. This group’s theme is Rock & Roll, so all over the main building you’ll see records hanging from the ceiling and pictures of Elvis and so on. There are so many things they do at this retreat. They have a lot of times designed to help the campers in dealing with cancer, but they also have a lot of fun. There are funny skits, games, and dress up days. It’s really tough to tell who is getting the most out of the experience, but it’s pretty clear that everyone is getting something.

I was biking with my friend, Steven at the begining of the week, and I was a little worried about my back tire. The tube had gone flat a few weeks ago, and when I changed it, the new tube went flat that day. I changed my tire again, still concerned that this really had less to do with poorly manufactured tubes and something a little more expensive to fix. We rode to Eva Beach, and my tire was flat just beyond the Post Office. Steven opted to ride back and get his Blazer to come back and get me, so I walked the bike to Eva Methodist’s Parking lot, and started taking my wheel off. It gave me a chance to catch my breath, be still and look around at everything, and curse my defective bike. But, while that was going on, I had three different people offer to help me out and give me a ride. It’s nice to know there’s help. To know that unexpected, difficult things need not always be experienced alone.

The storm will inevitabley come, we won’t know exactly when, as a good friend, Emily, and I found out when we decided to check out the view from the Waterfront during a visit to help in the office. The rain came down pretty quick, and my shirt, shorts, socks and shoes were all wet before we could get back to the Administration Building. These things are bound to happen if we are ever to get out from under the roof. But, it’s a little more pleasant to know there is help. Someone there to comment on the thunder claps and point out the lightening bolts. So you aren’t alone. So you don’t have to do all the work on your own.

Be in prayer, this week, for Camp Bluebird, that their time is one of rest, peace, and refreshment. Hope you all find that too.

Leave a Reply

