Read this Great Letter from Carmen

So far, we have received almost $1200 for the Staff Campership Endowment. One gift came from Carmen Timbes (RC in 04 and Acquatics in 05) who wrote a really great letter with her offering. We congratulate Carmen on graduating recently from Nursing school and her new job at LeBoneur where she will get to help so many more children. She gave me permission to share her letter with you. Here goes:

To my favorite place on earth,

When I read about the idea of the Staff Campership Endowment, I was shocked that no one had ever thought of such an amazing idea before, and decided to immediately take action. This camp has done so much for me, not only with my relationship with Christ, but also by making such an impact on my life. There is not enough money in the world that would pay Lakeshore back for what it has done for me. When I sat down to actually figure out how much I wanted to donate, I decided that I wanted to give a High School teenager the privilege to attend Senior High Camp, because this was the camp that turned my life around when I was a teenager. Enclosed is a check for $297.00, which is the exact amount needed for a camper to attend Senior High Camp. I also hope this will help get the endowment going. Even though I was on staff for two years, I am giving this donation in memory of Mary Margaret Pilcher, who would have been the best Resident Counselor there ever was. Merry Christmas and God Bless Lakeshore! ( Love always, Carmen Timbes, Sr High Camper Summer ’03, Living Group 6.)

That is an awesome witness. I know there are many out there who feel the same way. You may or may not be in a position to give the fee for an entire camp, but be confident that every gift matters. I was also wondering, “How many of you remember what Living Group you were in the year Lakeshore mattered to you the most?”

Leave a Reply

